The DAM Forum
July 28, 2021, 06:31:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: star ratings not saved into metadata ??  (Read 6333 times)
rickolivier
Newbie
*
Posts: 18


View Profile
« on: July 24, 2009, 01:28:24 AM »

This is why I LOVE upgrading to the latest version.

I have a workflow that is very productive and enables me to earn a living as a photographer.  I upgrade and it gets shot to h*ll.  Thanks, Adobe.  I appreciate it....

I used to simply make star ratings on my selects in LR, the "update DNG previews and metadata" and the star ratings were saved.

Then I'd drag that folder over to iview and select by star rating and build a website, post it, invoice, get paid.

Now after updating and opening in i-view, NO STARS.

any idea anyone?

rick olivier
Logged
rickolivier
Newbie
*
Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2009, 01:32:21 AM »

nevermind.  I figured it out.  now I have an additional step in my workflow:  "write metadata to files"

I thought upgrades were supposed to make my life easier.       right.

rick O.
Logged
peterkrogh
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5682


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2009, 01:38:39 AM »

Rick,
Upgrading can be a pain.

The problem could be in several places.  Let's diagnose.
Problems I've seen are:
• A Template is applied that has star ratings, and nukes embedded stars.
• A template is applied that has "illegal" metadata, and it causes other applications to fail to parse metadata

Make several new images (say, 3) and bring them in as a shoot.  Try running them through the workflow to make sure there are no stars at the end in iView.

Now let's open the images in Bridge, do you see the metadata (make sure you put more in there than stars, such as copyright and contact info, so you can tell it's not just the stars)?

Other questions:
Do any other applications touch the files?
What format are the files?

Peter






Logged
Doug
Newbie
*
Posts: 48


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2009, 05:29:30 PM »

nevermind.  I figured it out.  now I have an additional step in my workflow:  "write metadata to files"

I thought upgrades were supposed to make my life easier.       right.

rick O.

You don't need an extra step.  Lightroom>Catalog Settings>Metadata>Automatically Write Changes to XMP.

Does it on the fly as you work. I was very happy to have stumbled upon this checkbox a couple months ago!

Logged
peterkrogh
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5682


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2009, 09:16:49 PM »

Doug,
I recommend against this practice for several reasons.
1. It can slow the program down.
2. I think it is touching the files too often for general safety.
3. It's not the best way to save your Lightroom work - that's best accomplished by saving the LRCat file.
Peter
Logged
WaltSorensen
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2009, 04:33:36 PM »

I agree that the practice of "Automatically Write Changes to XMP" is not a good fail safe. I have found it's not reliable in actually writing the metatdata to the files.

`Walt Sorensen
« Last Edit: August 21, 2009, 02:32:07 PM by WaltSorensen » Logged

~Walt
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!