The DAM Forum
June 13, 2021, 05:57:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Several (newbie) questions about DNG  (Read 4475 times)
Serge
« on: November 03, 2008, 08:38:51 PM »

Hello,

I’m a photographer from Belgium and I recently bought the DAM Book which I almost read completely. I’m using Nikon gear, Adobe Lightroom and Adobe Photoshop.

I'm new to this forum and have several questions about DNG for which I couldn't directly find an answer.

In my search for information about converting to DNG (this forum, Adobe forums, Luminous Landscape, other testimonals, etc.) I have still some doubts about this whole process because of the lack of uniformity of the gathered information. I have the impression that everybody knows something about DNG but not everything, which is very confusing to someone like me who is a potenial user of the DNG-format.

1. I’m still not quite sure or convinced why I should convert to DNG. For me as an outsider it’s hard to imagine that for instance within a few years Nikon Capture NX won’t support a NEF file from their own D70 or D100.

2. I shoot RAW 14-bit Uncompressed, my files are 25MB. When I convert to DNG, will all the data be converted? When I open a file in NEF and DNG in Lightroom, basically there shouldn’t be any difference in the appearance on screen?