The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 08:44:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28003 Posts in 5130 Topics by 2912 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Workflow Discussions
| |-+  High Volume
| | |-+  Accurate Previews
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Accurate Previews  (Read 5536 times)
criggle
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: October 05, 2010, 08:40:30 AM »

I'm curious how others handle inaccurate previews in their DAM.  We create several Terabytes of Raw data per month and our clients expect to see the images online exactly as they appear onset.  We currently use Capture One but are looking into lightroom as an alternative for our tethered workflow.  The big problem is the DAM using a different raw converter to create previews and ignores all adjustments made in the capture software. Now you might say, 'just process everything to jpeg'.  Well thats exactly what we do now, but its a completely manual process subject to human error, and takes a tremendous amount of time.  Also now I've got two versions of every file.

Is this something you just deal with? Or has anyone come up with a creative solution?

-corey
Logged
rogerhoward
Full Member
***
Posts: 103


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2010, 11:00:41 AM »

Switch to a DNG workflow; make sure your previews are kept up to date by your raw processor (or do it in batch using DNG Converter, for instance); make sure your DAM is extracting the previews and not generating its own from the raw data.

-Roger
Logged

-----

Roger Howard
criggle
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2010, 12:23:04 PM »

Thank Makes sense, except converting to DNG is still a manual process and  any DNG conversion wouldn't maintain our C1 color settings.
We use Capture one to Capture, edit, color correct and process images and our clients expect to see their images in our DAM the same way they appeared in capture one during the shoot.

-Corey Riggle
Logged
rogerhoward
Full Member
***
Posts: 103


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2010, 11:48:27 AM »

AHhh... well I'm not terribly familiar with C1 these days, and not at all with regards to its DNG support. If it can generate DNGs, then those DNGs can contain previews showing the file as it should look.

Or generate JPEGs for each asset using C1, and then use that JPEG as the preview in your DAM - or insert it directly back into the DNG as its preview using exiftool.

 -Roger
Logged

-----

Roger Howard
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!