The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 20, 2014, 02:42:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28021 Posts in 5141 Topics by 2910 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Lightroom
| | |-+  Corrupt previews interrupting optimisation
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Corrupt previews interrupting optimisation  (Read 1238 times)
Conor Masterson

View Profile
« on: October 08, 2011, 11:04:39 AM »

Hi
Its my first time in the DAM forums and I have been looking about for an answer to my problem with no luck.

I have been using Lightroom for a few years with great success and have over 200000 images in my catalogue with lots of collections. For the first time ever I have had a corruption problem with the preview file. I tend to always render files as 1:1 for editing and have LR set to never discard previews.

Now when I run the backup including optimise catalogue it fails and says that Lightroom has encountered a problem and will try to fix when it starts again.

I have started to discard 1:1 previews and gone back 60,000 images with no luck. The problem is a few months old and Lightroom is starting to be occasionally erratic. I used t backup and optimise regularly and have avoided any problems until now.

Can anyone please suggest a way to diagnose the problem and to rectify this without having to trash everything and start again. My setup is below.

One final note, I have backed up the preview files once and left them alone about 9 months ago so I have one old copy of that file but I don't know if it can be used to restore and update to my current state. The file is hundreds of gigs in size

Thank you

Conor Masterson

I edit on a 1920x1200 NEC monitor and I have the 1:1 preview settings set to 2048, high quality.