The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 31, 2014, 02:48:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28020 Posts in 5140 Topics by 2910 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  DAM Stuff
| |-+  Scans and Camera Scans
| | |-+  looking for advice before scanning prints
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: looking for advice before scanning prints  (Read 2289 times)
baulrich

View Profile Email
« on: May 12, 2011, 08:11:34 AM »

I have and Epson V500 and VueScan pro software.  Questions are not VueScan-specific... just looking for some general advice on which settings to choose before starting.  I have lots of scans to complete and would like to settle on a consistent setting before getting started so I don't have to change half-way through.  I am a complete NOVICE at editing, touching up, etc digital images... BUT I want to be sure to save these images in a format/settings that will allow me or others to do any cleanup, touchup, etc in the future without wishing I had scanned differently. In fact I don't own any editing software.  I do use IDImager for DAM, so I use its editing capabilities in limited manner.

These are scans of both BW and COLOR prints.  I am not scanning any negatives.

My options

Input settings
========
I'm planning on scanning at 400dpi resolution.  I don't think the next step up (800dpi) is any better for prints.  I can't tell much difference in my tests.

Bits per pixel: (24bitRGB, 48bitRGB, 64bitRGBI (infrared))
==end

Output Settings
==========
TIF file type: (16bit gray, 24bitRGB, 48bitRGB, 64bitRGBI (infrared), 16bit infrared)
RAW file type: (16bit gray, 24bitRGB, 48bitRGB, 64bitRGBI (infrared), 16bit infrared)

TIF compression: (on,off,auto)
RAW commpression: (on,off,auto)
==end

What I know (or think I know) and am thinking now....