Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
iView -> EM -> and Now Media Pro!
The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 20, 2019, 03:31:33 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28033 Posts in 5147 Topics by 2904 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Media Pro & Expression Media
| | |-+  iView -> EM -> and Now Media Pro!
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] Print
Author Topic: iView -> EM -> and Now Media Pro!  (Read 49422 times)
Ron Berlier
Newbie
*
Posts: 18



View Profile
« Reply #45 on: July 01, 2011, 06:35:46 PM »

John, would you please share with us, if you don't mind, whether you are still using EM2, or have you moved to using MediaPro?

It appears that many folks who have moved to MediaPro are very unhappy with their decison for various reasons.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts-

Ron
Eugene, OR USA
Logged

Ron
"Curiosity is a terrible thing to waste"
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #46 on: July 01, 2011, 10:59:26 PM »

MediaPro, Ron, but only as a backup to Lightroom and just in case I ever decide to really go back. After initially-good findings with MediaPro I upgraded but gradually ran into slowdowns and irritations like the multi-folder selection and very inconsistent folder panels (eg duplication of drives). I don't mind the UI, though I think the menu text should be bigger and I keep thinking the Organize panel icon is a printer. It's pretty obvious P1 didn't test this out enough.

John
Logged
Rich Green
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #47 on: July 04, 2011, 06:57:51 AM »

John,

I agree with you. I've been using the program since it was iView 2.0. and it's been buggy since that time. I've learned, begrudgingly, to live with the annoyances and with each update there are new bugs to moan about, and it's no exception with this new Media Pro version.


Rich Green
http://www.rjgreenphoto.com/
http://www.richgreenphotography.com
http://rjgreenphoto.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/Rich.Green.Photography
Logged

Rich Green
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #48 on: July 08, 2011, 09:07:38 AM »

Hey guys, just downloaded a media pro update - 1.0.1. One problem I complained about in an earlier post was the inability to view several folders at the same time. Well, it's been fixed.


Rich Green
http://www.rjgreenphoto.com/
http://www.richgreenphotography.com
http://rjgreenphoto.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/Rich.Green.Photography
Logged

billseymour
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 308


View Profile
« Reply #49 on: July 11, 2011, 05:05:57 AM »

John B.- I'm not sure I understood your answer re Media Pro or EM2. Are you using Lightroom now, rather than EM2 or Media Pro? Is Lightroom close enough to the EM2/iView experience to warrant my looking at it more closely?

An interesting and frustrating journey of iView -> EM/EM2 -> Media Pro. The original wasn't broken, but the successor programs seem to make things more problematic rather than smoother. Thanks. --Bill
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #50 on: July 11, 2011, 05:23:11 AM »

Bill

I'm using Lightroom for all adjustment, metadata entry, and finding pictures. Once a folder of pictures is "finished", I then catalogue all the images in MediaPro, which is what I mean by "as a backup to Lightroom and just in case I ever decide to really go back". If I didn't have LR, I'd be able to use MP to find anything.

John
Logged
billseymour
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 308


View Profile
« Reply #51 on: July 11, 2011, 07:14:41 PM »

OK, John, thanks for the clarification. (The "backup to Lightroom" phrasing had confused me.)

I am staying with EM2 for now, watching and hopeful that MediaPro will get straightened out.
Thanks for the response. --Bill
Logged
cdubea
Newbie
*
Posts: 31



View Profile Email
« Reply #52 on: July 15, 2011, 05:36:00 AM »

After jumping in feet first only to find a number of "issues" I'm definitely ambivalent.

I've got a bunch of old images (jpg's mostly) that I had converted to NEF's in Capture.  Media Pro (and Capture One) will not access those images.  As the manufacturer rendering has been removed and there is no 64 bit WIC codec from Nikon, those images were no longer rendered on my Win7 64 bit machine.  A quick alert to Phase One support acknowledged the issue with a bit of a "tough luck" remark Sad

I was able to procure a third party WIC codec that provides that function and now I my NEF's are rendered. 

The level of interaction of Phase One personnel in their forum is frankly a bit disappointing.  Occasionally someone named Drew will chime in that "they are aware of the problem" but that's about all.  I was hoping PO would see the forum as a tool to help them manage the product (ala Hert and IdImager), but alas that seems not to be the case.

About the only thing I'm certain of at this point is PO will see no more of my hard earned money without a thorough and detailed evaluation of any future "upgrades".

Take care

chris
Logged

paul_dymond
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile Email
« Reply #53 on: February 22, 2014, 07:54:53 PM »

I've just upgraded to the latest version of Media Pro after being a long time iView and then Expression Media user. I've hit a snag with the thumbnail rendering. When I convert my CR2 files from the 6D to DNGs, any changes I've made in Camera Raw CC aren't reflected in the thumbnails in Media Pro. But it's only been happening in the last week or so and I can't figure out what's changed. Even though I made various changes in Camera Raw, it's as if Media Pro is suddenly ignoring all the information in the XMP file and just rendering the original RAW file and nothing I can see changes it. Help!

Paul Dymond
www.dymond.com.au
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!