Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
iView -> EM -> and Now Media Pro!
The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 17, 2019, 07:57:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28033 Posts in 5147 Topics by 2904 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Media Pro & Expression Media
| | |-+  iView -> EM -> and Now Media Pro!
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print
Author Topic: iView -> EM -> and Now Media Pro!  (Read 47157 times)
billseymour
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 308


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: May 12, 2011, 01:16:40 AM »

I've just read over the Phase One forum's MediaPro posts as of 5/11, and I am somewhat concerned to see mostly (pretty much overwhelmingly) negative feedback. The complaints about the UI don't particularly bother me, because that is merely cosmetic and if user color options are provided, easily resolved to suit individual tastes.

On the other hand, I see a number of posts indicating that MediaPro is slow (compared to EM2), crashes, some reports of flickering text on panels, etc. These types of things do concern me, particularly the speed criticisms. One of the reasons I returned to EM2 from Idimager was my experience of sluggishness in the latter. EM2 (and iView before it) is light on its feet and quick. I can't tell whether the posts re MediaPro speed are just gripes, or represent a real identified problem.

I plan to take MediaPro out for a spin in a week or two, and I hope that it is closer to "nearly identical to EM2" as John B. suggested, rather than being so "new and improved" as to be a problem.
--Bill
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: May 12, 2011, 01:32:12 AM »

It's the nature of the beast! To some extent, people will just complain about differences that are obvious, like the UI. I do think the menu text could be bigger, and I'll get used to the Organize button that looks too much like a printer. I don't get the speed problems - as I said in my post (top right in news) I'm finding it pretty quick, though since then I have noticed some odd slowdowns.

John
Logged
billseymour
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 308


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: May 12, 2011, 07:07:28 AM »

John- Good points.

I also realize that I don't yet know the Phase One forum, in the sense that I don't have a sense of the backgrounds, knowledge, attitudes, etc of the posters there. On the other hand, I am familiar with this DAM forum, and know the posts and ideas of numerous folk, and I know the "reliability" of many of these authors.

So I look forward to seeing, on DAM forum, feedback on MediaPro. --Bill
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #33 on: May 12, 2011, 07:24:58 AM »

Yes, and over there they all have names like NN115145445454211545. Sorry, NN115145445454211545 whoever you are, but Bill, John, Peter etc is a whole lot easier!

John
Logged
Paul_S
Newbie
*
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: May 13, 2011, 12:58:23 AM »

Well as a long standing user of ME2 and Iveiw before I'm having a lot of problems with it on Windows 7 64 bit as are many others.

1- File sort does not work.

2- Selecting more than one folder results in a blank thumbnail view, so I only have the choice of viewing all thumbnails or just one folder.

3--No matter what you set in the syncronise dialogue it generates XMP side car files for all images including Jpegs.

4- Setting the rendering engine to Phase One and trying to view images full size just causes a freeze up .

Speed is not to much of a issue with me but just the above make it virtually unusable and I have had to go back to using EM2.
Logged

roberte
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 290


View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: May 13, 2011, 09:09:38 PM »

I know Phase One's actions will have to speak louder than words. However I have to say they are very responsive to user bug reports and take them seriously. Phase One are dedicated to make Media Pro the best DAM solution for all photographers including those who do not use Capture One. Nevertheless it makes sense to make the first update work better with their raw conversion software.

Media Pro will improve and I anticipate updates will be released far more frequently than has been the case since iView.

Surely Phase One need to recruit more alpha and beta testers before they release Media Pro to market? v1 should not have shipped with the apparently obvious bugs Paul lists above. I've sent at least as many bug reports to Phase One.

-- Robert.
Logged

BeckyMalaria
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: May 17, 2011, 10:45:21 AM »

So regarding my wish for network support, the only thing we've found that's hopeful is here:
http://www.phaseone.com/en/Software/Media-Pro/Features/Complete-features.aspx

"Shared catalogs 
Share your catalogs with others on your network or by email. New shared catalog support enables multiple users to work with the same catalog."

Kind of vague and I can't find anything about this elsewhere. It's not mentioned in the "highlights" section of their release notes, and there's no manual in the Documentation area. We'll do a trial when time permits, but would LOVE to learn if anyone else has tested this out or read any other info on shared catalogues.

-Becky
Logged
roberte
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 290


View Profile WWW
« Reply #37 on: May 18, 2011, 04:12:45 PM »

Becky,

As far as I can see regarding shared access to catalogs there is no difference to Expression Media and iView. i.e., The first user opening the catalog has read/write access, successive users have read-only access until the first user closes their app.

In Expression Media I did see crashes when more than one person opened an 'IVC' catalog. In the little time that I've used Media Pro I've seen no crashes opening 'MPCATALOG' files on multiple Mac computers. I am guessing when Phase One changed the catalog and increased its size limit they may have fixed what caused crashes?

-- Robert.
Logged

DonShreve
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: May 18, 2011, 10:27:40 PM »

I just wanted to say that after a bit of a rough start with crashes upon startup, I'm pretty pleased..overall.
The support culture is responsive, but not quite what other companies do. I have actual reason to believe it will improve, but the obvious focus of this company is on their PhaseOne brand. MUCH better than M$, but the program is still buggy.
The improvements aren't huge, but neither is the price on the upgrade. The ROI is a no-brainer here. Biggest improvement is on speed. The interface is more 2011, but I haven't explored or needed whatever else.
It's worth a shot, there's still no other cataloging software like it, AFAIC.

Logged

Don Shreve
Shreve Imaging
Fayetteville, AR
http://www.shreveimaging.com
BeckyMalaria
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: May 19, 2011, 09:56:50 AM »

Hi Roberte,

I wish that was how EM2 worked, at least for us. What happens is that once two people have the shared file open, NEITHER can save. So you can only save changes if you're the the only one accessing the file. No good.

Here's my post on the subject:
http://thedambook.com/smf/index.php?topic=4851.msg26942#msg26942

-Becky
Logged
Rich Green
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #40 on: May 29, 2011, 07:58:03 AM »

Yesterday it was time to download and upgrade. On a Mac, OS 10.5.8 After installing I followed the directions to upgrade my Expression Media catalogues. For those who don't know, launch Media pro, open an Expression Media catalog, then "save as". It doesn't overwrite the old file, but starts a new one. I have 24 catalogues and expected everything to go smoothly. (For that reason alone I should be beaten and flogged.) And for 23 catalogues everything was absolutely fine, but there was one catalog that was simply bizarre. I ended up sending this email to Phase One support -

"Am upgrading all Expression Media catalogues to Media pro and everything has worked except one catalog. I have also tried to build a new catalog from scratch - importing not from Expression Media catalog but direct from the image folder itself but the program just freezes. At first I assumed that there might be too many images so I tested importing just 1 image and it still freezes. Every other catalog or folder imported just fine, but this one freezes. What could possibly be wrong? Thanks for any help."

I ended up solving the problem by going to my backup HD (for all you folks out there here's a reminder of how backing up, and recent back ups, can save the day). On the backup I imported the Expression Media catalog and finally everything worked. Now, I'm not foolish enough to think that I won't have problems, I run into them all the time, but this one was strange. I've been using the product since iView 2.0 (I think). There have always been bugs but it has remained my product of choice. This time though, I was not a happy camper.

Rich Green
http://www.rjgreenphoto.com/
http://www.richgreenphotography.com
http://rjgreenphoto.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/Rich.Green.Photography
Logged

Rich Green
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #41 on: May 31, 2011, 06:18:11 AM »

Well, the mistake turned out to be my own. Under the menu>MediaPro>Preferences>Media Rendering>RAW>it was set to Phase One and should have been set to Apple. In my own limited defense, I have been using this product for years and had completely forgotten about this setting. So, if anyone else is having this problem or you're going to upgrade and are not using Phase One Capture product, and you're on a Mac, make sure you set it to Apple.

Rich Green
http://www.rjgreenphoto.com/
http://www.richgreenphotography.com
http://rjgreenphoto.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/Rich.Green.Photography
Logged

Rich Green
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #42 on: June 10, 2011, 02:14:01 PM »

One thing I discovered that doesn't work anymore, or maybe it's changed and I just don't know how to do it - I like to click on multiple folders buttons (those little dots to the right of the folder name with the image count) and then I could see what's in multiple folders at one time. I also run tasks doing this - I'll click on several folders with Canon RAW images that I want to convert to DNG and I can do it in one step.

This worked perfectly in iView and Expression. Anyone have any ideas why I can't see the images anymore?  Thanks.

Rich Green
http://www.rjgreenphoto.com/
http://www.richgreenphotography.com
http://rjgreenphoto.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/Rich.Green.Photography
Logged

johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #43 on: June 10, 2011, 02:19:47 PM »

It is on the P1 forum somewhere, but it's a horrible bug, Rich. I think it also affects other multi select operations.

John
Logged
Rich Green
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #44 on: June 10, 2011, 02:31:28 PM »

Thanks for the reply John. Since it's a bug, maybe there's a fix on the way. (I can hope!)

Rich Green
http://www.rjgreenphoto.com/
http://www.richgreenphotography.com
http://rjgreenphoto.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/Rich.Green.Photography
Logged

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!