The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2014, 12:04:09 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28003 Posts in 5130 Topics by 2912 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  DAM Stuff
| |-+  Software Discussions
| | |-+  DAM Software choices for Mac user.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: DAM Software choices for Mac user.  (Read 2309 times)
Richardjoseph

View Profile
« on: July 22, 2010, 05:40:21 AM »

I am a photographer with a library of around 6,000 images mostly 35mm colour slide and black and white 35mm negatives, ( plus more recently jpegs), over the last 30 years.  The collection is largely uncatalogued and not well organised.  I desperately want to digitalise these images and catalogue them as ultimately I want to establish an online photo library.

Currently I use a Macbookpro, Imac desktop, Vivitar 6.2 mega pixel digital camera.  The first job I need to do is scan my collection.  I have an Artiscan 4000T which cans up to 4,000 dpi but what file size should I be aiming for as ultimately the images just have to look reasonable on a computer screen.  The Artiscan produces either jpeg or tiff files.  Will this be a problem at the cataloguing stage?  Do members know of an alternative scanning/copying process?

The software choice for Mac users initially appears limited as I have read good reviews of Idimager and Imatch but they are both Windows applications only.

The scanned images will have to be imported to the Mac on a disc as the Artiscan only has a scsi card and does not connect to my Mac.

I don't plan on altering the images very much.  They will all be full frame and no changes to the colour balance etc.