Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Selecting top-level keywords in LR3
The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 20, 2020, 07:12:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28033 Posts in 5147 Topics by 2903 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Lightroom
| | |-+  Selecting top-level keywords in LR3
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Selecting top-level keywords in LR3  (Read 5000 times)
Photokin
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: July 08, 2010, 08:36:17 AM »

I'm using hierarchical keywords in LR3.  If I select a top-level keyword, all the pictures with child keywords are displayed.  I need to select just the photos with a top-level keyword.  Is there a way?
-=RAP=-
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 09:42:15 AM »

Not easily.

You can use the filter panel. Set the first column as keywords and select the top-level keyword. Expand that keyword's hierarchy (there's a little tick in the column's mini menu. Then select all the child keywords. Now select all the visible images - ie those which have child keywords assigned - and click the parent keyword again. This now means all those child keyword images are selected, so choose Edit > Invert Selection. And you're done.

John

PS round here we insist on signing posts with our real names - see http://thedambook.com/smf/sign_your_post.htm
Logged
peterkrogh
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5682


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 09:49:18 AM »

One other method:
Show the keywords as a flat list in the Filter Bar.  That should only show the images assigned to the top-level keyword, and none of the images that are child-only keywords.
Peter
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2010, 09:51:58 AM »

Hm.

John Embarrassed
Logged
Photokin
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2010, 01:04:12 PM »

Thanks, John and Peter.  Neither method worked for me.  I tried another approach.  I created a smart collection in which keywords contain the top-level keyword, and exclude each of the second-level child keywords.  While my keyword list (on the right of the LR3 screen) indicates 37 of approximately 4,000 pictures with the top-level keyword, the smart collection showed none.  This leads me to wonder how the keyword list does its calculations.
~Richard
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!