The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 28, 2014, 03:56:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28021 Posts in 5141 Topics by 2910 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Scripting
| | |-+  filename to metadata, but not "title"
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: filename to metadata, but not "title"  (Read 4650 times)
thorirv
Newbie
*
Posts: 16


View Profile WWW Email
« on: September 09, 2009, 04:57:33 AM »

i'm trying to find a way of automatically write my filenames to the files' metadata. i did a search, both here and a general google search, and all the options (scripts) i found wrote the filename in the iptc "title" field. since my filenames are somewhat boring as titles, i'd like to write them as keywords (to be able to title the pics i feel worth giving a title, without losing the filename from the meta).

does anyone know how this can be done?


oh, i use bridge (cs3) and iview media 3.1.2


best
thorir v.
Logged

thorir vidar
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2009, 05:31:14 AM »

Easiest way would be in iView. What OS?

John
Logged
thorirv
Newbie
*
Posts: 16


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 05:35:34 AM »

oh, mac os 10.5.6

th
Logged

thorir vidar
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2009, 05:38:06 AM »

OK, I tried something quickly for Bridge (cross platform) and it seems to work. Did you find my Filename to Title script? You would need to modify one of the "for loops" :

Code:
{ var thumb = thumbs[i];
   var md = thumb.synchronousMetadata;
   md.namespace ="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/";
  md.subject = md.subject + ',' + thumb.name ;
}

John
« Last Edit: September 09, 2009, 05:39:39 AM by johnbeardy » Logged
thorirv
Newbie
*
Posts: 16


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2009, 06:04:39 AM »

john (and thanks for taking the time to reply),

i did find yours, but backed out when i saw windows only.
i'll go back and have a look, and see if i can make it work (scripting is a bit ancient greek to me)..

best
th
Logged

thorir vidar
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2009, 06:19:29 AM »

Thorir, my iView/ExMedia stuff in almost all Windows-oriented, but all my Bridge scripts are cross-platform.

The key bits of that code are lines 3 and 4 which first set the namespace where keywords are held, and then set the field (known as subject) to whatever it already is, plus the filename. I'm not sure what happens if you run it two or more times on the same file, though Bridge may be smart enough to work out that the filename is already shown as a keyword and doesn't need adding again. Have fun.

John
Logged
thorirv
Newbie
*
Posts: 16


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2009, 02:34:20 AM »

john, thanks again.

fwiw, i ended up using your bridge script as it is. guess i found out that for me to become script litterate was too ..ehh, time consuming ,-)


best
thorir v.
Logged

thorir vidar
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!