Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Comparison of IDimager v4 to EM2
The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 02, 2020, 02:22:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28033 Posts in 5147 Topics by 2903 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  idImager
| | |-+  Comparison of IDimager v4 to EM2
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] Print
Author Topic: Comparison of IDimager v4 to EM2  (Read 57875 times)
danaltick
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1616

evaa-xdtb@spamex.com danaltick
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #45 on: August 31, 2009, 07:17:34 PM »

As Larry the Cable Guy would say, "I don't car who u r, that was funny rite ther"

Dan
Logged

WindowsXP, ImageIngester Pro, RapidFixer, IVMP 3, ACR4, Photoshop CS4, Controlled Keyword Catalog, Canon EOS50D
danaltick
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1616

evaa-xdtb@spamex.com danaltick
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #46 on: August 31, 2009, 08:37:30 PM »

I've made quite a few suggestions on the IDimager forum since I started evaluating it.¬  Below are the links to those threads.¬  Peter, feel free to critique as necessary.¬  Don't won't to send Hert on any wild goose chases.

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=10659

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=10495

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10685

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10666

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10608

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10655 (already taken care of)

http://forum.idimager.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10506

That about wraps up my evaluation/comparison unless anybody has any recommendations/suggestions.

Quite an awakening!¬  I would never have guessed this app was so comprehensive.¬  I'm truly stupid-fied.¬  Hert, I'm humbled by what you have accomplished.¬  I only regret not having looked at it sooner.¬  Can't wait for version 5.

Now time to get back to re-systematizing my DAM, with IDimager of course.

Dan
« Last Edit: September 01, 2009, 09:24:48 AM by danaltick » Logged

WindowsXP, ImageIngester Pro, RapidFixer, IVMP 3, ACR4, Photoshop CS4, Controlled Keyword Catalog, Canon EOS50D
Dierk
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


149167100 Dierk54@Hotmail.com Evo2Me dhslowhand
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #47 on: August 31, 2009, 11:06:00 PM »

A best I can tell, what you are describing is that when entering a keyowrd hierarchy, all nodes are added as separate keywords, even if an identical item is already there.  Is that it?

Exactly.

d'n'd has - outside of role player communities - always been a standard abbrev for drag-and-drop. Sorry, I tend to shorten words, phrases, even sentences a lot on days I've a lot to say on-line.
Logged

Dierk

IDimager on Windows XP/SP2; 3.2 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Capture NX 2, Adobe Creative Suite 3
peterkrogh
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5682


View Profile Email
« Reply #48 on: September 01, 2009, 06:06:34 AM »

Dierk,
Don't know why I didn't process DnD - yes, that's common usage.
Usually, my brain works in acronyms, or MBWIA.
Peter
Logged
Dierk
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


149167100 Dierk54@Hotmail.com Evo2Me dhslowhand
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #49 on: September 01, 2009, 10:54:07 AM »

Using Opera, I created a search box for the toolbar from: http://www.acronymfinder.com/

Oh, and the linguist in me tells me to be a little pedantic on 'acronym', neither MBWIA nor d'n'd are such, they are just abbreviations. An acronym is an abbrev formed from several words by using single letters from each [usually the first one, but let's not get too pedantic], which is then spoken like a word, hence '-nym' = name. NATO is the standard example.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2009, 10:59:02 AM by Dierk » Logged

Dierk

IDimager on Windows XP/SP2; 3.2 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Capture NX 2, Adobe Creative Suite 3
peterkrogh
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5682


View Profile Email
« Reply #50 on: September 01, 2009, 02:40:46 PM »

I can pronounce MBWIA.
;-)
Peter
Logged
danaltick
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1616

evaa-xdtb@spamex.com danaltick
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #51 on: September 01, 2009, 08:13:49 PM »

I just discovered that IDimager can replicate the Place Finder capability in EM due to its ability to browse all the Metadata Panels by control clicking on them just like EM.¬  For example you can Ctrl-click on State then City then Location very easily; and of course you can supplement this with Ctrl-clicks on the Ratings, Color Labels, File Types, etc. just like EM, but with many more fields.... very powerful indeed and really negates the need for Hert's script mentioned earlier in this post http://thedambook.com/smf/index.php?topic=4202.msg23383#msg23383.¬  You can also Ctrl-Alt-cliick to exclude specific fields.  One thing it doesn't do though that EM does is highlight the fields contained in the selected images.

Dan
« Last Edit: September 01, 2009, 08:16:46 PM by danaltick » Logged

WindowsXP, ImageIngester Pro, RapidFixer, IVMP 3, ACR4, Photoshop CS4, Controlled Keyword Catalog, Canon EOS50D
havezet
Full Member
***
Posts: 180



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #52 on: September 01, 2009, 08:30:18 PM »

One thing it doesn't do though that EM does is highlight the fields contained in the selected images.

Hi Dan,

You can read the in/excluded items in the title of the Collection Viewer (in other words; directly above the thumbs)

Does that help?

Hert
Logged

Author of IDimager
http://www.idimager.com
danaltick
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1616

evaa-xdtb@spamex.com danaltick
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #53 on: September 02, 2009, 04:59:46 AM »

Hert,

Yes that does help.  I like that approach.  You can always see the full conditional list.  With EM you only see the highlighted terms if those portions of the hierarchy are actually visible in the Catalog Explorer window.  It would be nice of course to have both, but one or the other will certainly work.

Dan
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 05:04:19 AM by danaltick » Logged

WindowsXP, ImageIngester Pro, RapidFixer, IVMP 3, ACR4, Photoshop CS4, Controlled Keyword Catalog, Canon EOS50D
havezet
Full Member
***
Posts: 180



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #54 on: September 02, 2009, 07:59:18 AM »

Dan,

When using Ctrl+Click then IDimager also displays an indicator at the far left of the selected item (a lime colored vertical bar).

Hert
Logged

Author of IDimager
http://www.idimager.com
danaltick
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1616

evaa-xdtb@spamex.com danaltick
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #55 on: September 02, 2009, 08:09:49 AM »

Hert,

Yes that's true.  Let me rewind for a moment now that I think about this.  With EM all you have to do is select some thumbnails and whatever metadata and/or labels/sets have been assigned to those thumbnails gets highlighted in the Catalog Explorer tree hierarchy.  This happens without any multi-image Ctrl-click searching.  Now the Quick Assign feature does give you all the Catalog Label assignments, but it doesn't show the other Branch assignments such as Color Labels, Ratings, other IPTC metadata, file types, etc. Make sense?

Dan
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 08:19:02 AM by danaltick » Logged

WindowsXP, ImageIngester Pro, RapidFixer, IVMP 3, ACR4, Photoshop CS4, Controlled Keyword Catalog, Canon EOS50D
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!