The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 12:04:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28003 Posts in 5130 Topics by 2912 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Scripting
| | |-+  Help revising EM2 Annotation script: Description from text lines
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Help revising EM2 Annotation script: Description from text lines  (Read 3008 times)
mtpaper

View Profile Email
« on: September 18, 2008, 04:36:33 PM »

I'm new to mac and EM2. I have just enough knowledge to get myself into trouble.

If I understand correctly, the current existing script (titled Annotation: Description from text lines) does the following:
- looks at selected files
- looks at contents of text file
- finds the record in the text file that corresponds to a file
- copies the entire record from text file and writes it to the Description field

I would like to control the placement of the data. Instead of all of it going to Description, I'd like to specify that some of it go to Event, and some to source, some to date created etc.

Is that possible?
Where can I learn the syntax etc?
Do I need to learn Applescript to do this?

In case you need/want the details....
- I have a gazillion faxes from WinFax
- I'm batch converting them to pdfs
- WinFax will create a log file for me, which I'll massage in Excel, so that the first field of each record is the filename, followed by sender's phone number, transmission date, subject
- I am trying to link up the data from the logfile with the pdfs, so that I can catalog this in EM2

....unless someone has a better idea of how to do this??? 

Worse comes to worse, I'll just use the existing script, then search for specific text in the description field only, without having the benefits of the catalog annotation fields....

Thank you!
Marion