The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 22, 2014, 08:42:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28021 Posts in 5141 Topics by 2910 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Aperture
| | |-+  Aperture 2 and DNGs
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Aperture 2 and DNGs  (Read 3953 times)
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« on: February 13, 2008, 09:09:31 AM »

I've been mucking around with Aperture 2 and DNGs and there are 2 big improvements - it reads DNGs as DNGs, and it reads their embedded metadata. I scribbled a few thoughts here.

John

 
Logged
jimHere
Newbie
*
Posts: 49


born in the 20th Century


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2008, 09:15:36 AM »

I just wish these companies would settle what metadata is 'official'. Adobe's XMP seems pretty well along, so somehow Apple needs to be convinced it would be good to just re-align their metadata to match. MS's Internet Explorer 7 now reads CSS correctly(ish), so companies CAN go with standards without seeming weak.

-- Jim
Logged
jimHere
Newbie
*
Posts: 49


born in the 20th Century


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2008, 09:22:31 AM »

Or maybe it does:
http://www.apple.com/aperture/tutorials/#adjustmetadata-embedmetadata
(I don't have v2 here yet)

--Jim
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2008, 09:25:47 AM »

Jim

I've downloaded the trial and ordered the box, but AFAICS embedding is upon export. There's nothing like iView's Sync or LR's Save.

John
Logged
jimHere
Newbie
*
Posts: 49


born in the 20th Century


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2008, 09:27:12 AM »

Ah. I guess I should actually buy the thing today.

See you around the other forums...
Logged
arossphoto
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 95


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2008, 05:10:46 PM »

Can version 2 save adjusted raw files from supported cameras as DNG? I was looking at the new features, but it sounds like it still locks all the adjustment work into that one application as Peter described in this post from last year.

I haven't used Aperture, but can it do virtual sets yet?

Cheers,

Andrew
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2008, 12:52:51 AM »

No, it can't export a DNG from a raw file. But it can now read and write descriptive metadata to a DNG when it makes a copy of that DNG (via File > Export Masters) - in other words, it can't write back to the catalogued original DNG. No adjustment metadata is written out. One odd inclusion is that Export Masters now lets you choose to write metadata back to raw files (or you can choose sidecars).

It has always been able to do virtual sets, called projects, (virtual) folders and albums. In fact, you have to work in virtual sets as real folders are invisible in the application.

John
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!