The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 30, 2014, 06:08:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28016 Posts in 5137 Topics by 2912 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  DAM Stuff
| |-+  Software Discussions
| | |-+  Windows Home Server in the DAM workflow
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Windows Home Server in the DAM workflow  (Read 7100 times)
jj

View Profile
« on: January 21, 2008, 09:13:58 PM »

Disclaimer: I am the Release Manager for Windows Home Server and am an extremely enthusiastic home user.

I posted a response in the hardware forum on Windows Home Server but I thought I'd share with you all how I have been using Home Server in my workflow and where I'm heading.

I’m a newbie to this DAM forum and am just now starting to adopt the workflow outlined in the book and on the videos. I highly recommend the video for people getting started. I played the video on my laptop as I started to set up my DAM on the workstation over the weekend and it made it go much faster as I started to familiarize myself with Bridge and Expression Media. It's easy to follow along with Expression Media despite the fact Peter uses iView on the video.

I’m using Microsoft Expression Media, Photoshop CS3, and Bridge CS3 right now. (I'm migrating all my legacy assets from Photoshop Elements/Album). I’m also using Adobe Production Suite CS3 and do some light work in Premiere. I’ll look in other forum entries for advice on the unique aspects of DAM for video.

I am using, intend to use or can recommend using Windows Home Server for the following for DAM:
1. Automatic nightly backups
2. Centralized storage
3. Remote access to my home computers & files on my server. (you can upload photos to your home server remotely too but it’s slow for large files.)
4. Hosting simple photo galleries & websites using a 3rd party add-in (using Home Server’s extensibility)