Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
New to GPS, any Canon Solutions
The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 17, 2021, 02:03:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28033 Posts in 5147 Topics by 2903 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  General
| |-+  GPS/ Geotagging
| | |-+  New to GPS, any Canon Solutions
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: New to GPS, any Canon Solutions  (Read 24836 times)
bslanger

View Profile Email
« on: August 06, 2007, 09:01:37 PM »

I'm totally new to the GPS world. I was waiting for Jobo's PhotoGPS to come out, which is built on new
technology (see Google results for Jobs PhotoGPS), but it won't be out until October.  I have a surprise
quick trip to Arizona next week, and was hoping to have a somewhat easy solution to GPS and my Canons.
Currently I have no GPS unit, other than what's built into my new cell phone.  Is there somewhere online
I can get a crash course on GPS, or, does anyone have any suggestions.  I would be willing to spend
a couple hundred (hopefully not 400) on some kind of set up, and hopefully the whole process is not
crazy difficult.  Thanks for any info.
Brian
Marc Rochkind

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 10:13:54 PM »

Get a GPS device based on the SIRFstar III chip (e.g., Garmin 60CSx). Don't worry about interfacing it with the camera. Have it write a track log while you shoot. Then tag the photos with GPS coordinates during ingestion automatically (it uses the times to correlate the two).

As a matter of fact... that's what the ImageIngesterPro (my product) can do if you use one of the Version 2.3 betas.

Sorry for the plug (not really!), but IIP really is the tool you want. Honestly! OK, so I'm biased... ;-)