Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Expression Media on Windows
The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 16, 2019, 02:52:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28033 Posts in 5147 Topics by 2904 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Software Discussions
| |-+  Media Pro & Expression Media
| | |-+  Expression Media on Windows
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Expression Media on Windows  (Read 6166 times)
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« on: May 20, 2007, 12:20:53 PM »

Anyone trying Expression Media on Windows should look at this post. Basically, three of us have found that you can't select items in most of Organize's panels. So you can't select all the red labelled items, or those with a certain name in the People field. This error doesn't seem to happen on the Mac, but it would be good if other Windows users can confirm the problem.

John
Logged
johnbeardy
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1813


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2007, 02:18:25 AM »

Doug, ex-iView and now at Microsoft, has responded at the iView forum:

Quote
We are aware of this issue in the Windows variants of Expression Media. This will be fixed in our next release.
Please do not ask me about other fixes and expected availability dates, as
1) I do not know all the fixes we will make, and I do not know the release date, and,
2) if I did know, I would not be at liberty to divulge that info anyway.

Until this is fixed, Windows users are unlikely to switch.

John
Logged
Chris Bishop
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 472


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2007, 03:13:31 AM »

I can't even get it to load up! So I'm glad it's nothing special, because I'm not missing anything! What do I do if they do improve it, at a cost?
Chris Bishop
Logged
Dierk
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


149167100 Dierk54@Hotmail.com Evo2Me dhslowhand
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2007, 05:29:41 AM »

Buy it?
Logged

Dierk

IDimager on Windows XP/SP2; 3.2 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Capture NX 2, Adobe Creative Suite 3
Chris Bishop
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 472


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2007, 05:58:38 AM »

I have iVMPro, if EM isn't any better, and I can't load it, isn't a loss. If it improves and I can't load it, then I'm at a loss.
Chris Bishop
Logged
Dierk
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


149167100 Dierk54@Hotmail.com Evo2Me dhslowhand
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2007, 08:25:25 AM »

Buy it?

As long as I don't anyting that's worth it, I stay with 3.1.3; that would include any fixes to MEM v1 currently necessary. MEM only becomes interesting the moment it is significantly improved over MP v3.x - if still for free, good. If I have to pay for an upgrade the functionality better be a lot improved with at least one feature request I had fulfilled [no specific one, just one]. Otherwise a competitor will have a new customer ...
Logged

Dierk

IDimager on Windows XP/SP2; 3.2 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Capture NX 2, Adobe Creative Suite 3
Mike777
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2007, 01:54:03 AM »

Strange! I was under the impression that EM was going to be a major leg up from the current version of Iview, not a backward step.

Many thanks J Beardy for tracking all this stuff and reporting it.

Im not upgrading.

Cheers
Mike
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!