The DAM Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 21, 2014, 11:20:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
28021 Posts in 5141 Topics by 2910 Members
Latest Member: kbroch
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  The DAM Forum
|-+  Workflow Discussions
| |-+  Multi-User Configurations
| | |-+  Small Workgroup...LOTS of photography!!!
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Small Workgroup...LOTS of photography!!!  (Read 5549 times)
LRobbins
Lee Robbins

LeeRobbins2006
View Profile Email
« on: November 11, 2006, 10:01:33 PM »

I am a Photo Editor for a television production and distribution company.  We have used DVD's as an archiving systems with contact sheets as reference filed away in filing cabinets up until I started using Aperture about 6 months ago.  I absolutely LOVE the editing interface and support of dual monitors...it has absolutely changed my world.  I breeze through identifying and keywording talent in the photos using predefined buttons.  But, the Library has grown...FAST.  A single Production usually produces b/w 2500 - 7000 images...we shoot apprx 50 productions a year (movies and miniseries).  After six months of using Aperture my library grew to 60,000 images and Aperture is now running SLOW.  

The files sizes keep getting bigger and I just don't have the time to save files back to DVD's (it's just me doing ALL photography...no help).  So we have established a external hard-drive archiving and back up solution for each production.  Peter's book has been really helpful in adapting a workflow...although the bucket system doesn't really work because I need to set up the images in folders by each date the photographer is on set.  

It has become clear I need to implement a cataloging software.  Here are my must haves...
 - Apprx 3-5 people in my group really need to be able to view photography as I receive it from the photogrpahers on set.  I