Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Print Page - LRv3 and CS3 or CS5

The DAM Forum

Software Discussions => Lightroom => Topic started by: Chris Bishop on June 02, 2010, 08:10:04 AM



Title: LRv3 and CS3 or CS5
Post by: Chris Bishop on June 02, 2010, 08:10:04 AM
Since the launch of LR I've stopped upgrading Photoshop - the benefits were (for me) in RAW improvements, and LR had those. Now I'm interested in Content Aware Fill, so may upgrade CS3 to CS5 and leave LR and v2. The lens profiles are (will be) in CS5 anyway.
Would LR2 still be able to be used as a DAM application after Bridge ACR work, or should I look to using EM2 - now I have a free copy?
I'm happy with LR2, but it currently does 95% of my manipulation and all my DAM.
Would it see ALL the RAW work done in the DNG? I know I wouldn't be able to tweek the file in LR2 after CS5.
Chris Bishop


Title: Re: LRv3 and CS3 or CS5
Post by: peterkrogh on June 08, 2010, 02:34:37 AM
Chris,
Your archive is mainly digital camera originals, right?  If that's the case, I'd probably suggest LR3 as the tool since you're happy with it.  Adding other tools to the workflow makes it more complicated.  I think LR3 is the most important upgrade for you, followed by CS5 if you want the content aware fill etc.
Peter


Title: Re: LRv3 and CS3 or CS5
Post by: BobSmith on June 08, 2010, 12:29:54 PM
I agree that Lightroom 3 is probably most important to you.  You can use LR3 with CS3 or you can use CS5 with LR2 but life will be simpler if you keep the versions in sync and use LR3 with CS5.  When crossing versions the scripts that move images between the programs are buggy or simply don't work... and the fact that the develop modules are different can cause issues.  These are not insurmountable problems but the workflow is simpler when its all in sync.

Bob Smith


Title: Re: LRv3 and CS3 or CS5
Post by: Butch_M on June 08, 2010, 02:54:42 PM
If you purchase the upgrades for PSCS5 and LR3 at the same time, there is a 30% discount on LR3 ... if that helps ...


Title: Re: LRv3 and CS3 or CS5
Post by: Chris Bishop on June 09, 2010, 07:29:40 AM
Just bought them both on the deal. Saved 25.
Also 15% discount for LR beta testers.
Not sure if that is off the upgrade price for LR1 or 2 users or the full price for first timers - or either
Chris Bishop