Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/content/60/9972860/html/smf/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Print Page - D3/D300 RAW Files and Xmedia On Mac

The DAM Forum

Software Discussions => Media Pro & Expression Media => Topic started by: Kent Larson on January 02, 2008, 08:45:04 AM



Title: D3/D300 RAW Files and Xmedia On Mac
Post by: Kent Larson on January 02, 2008, 08:45:04 AM
Here is what I heard from Xmedia support concerning D3/D300 raw files on the Mac.

============
Unfortunately, on the Mac platform we are dependant on the CoreGraphics component (also known as Quartz) of the Mac OS. Apple develops the decoding technology for any new RAW formats and updates CoreGraphics regularly. We get the benefit of that work "automagically", assuming the user has configured xMedia to use Apple's conversion engine (setting the "Preferred Engine" to "Apple"). Unfortunately Apple has yet to update CoreGraphics to support the D300 RAW files.
============

Kent


Title: Re: D3/D300 RAW Files and Xmedia On Mac
Post by: johnbeardy on January 02, 2008, 08:54:17 AM
I thought you could choose Manufacturer for rendering raw files, and then an update to the latest version of iView NX would install the necessary support for the D3/300. Not sure though.

John


Title: Re: D3/D300 RAW Files and Xmedia On Mac
Post by: roberte on January 02, 2008, 04:56:22 PM
Hi,

On Mac 10.5.1 using manufacturer and embedded thumbnails I can view Nikon D3 and D300 NEFs. Using embedded thumbnails must tell iView to look for the JPEG. If Nikon still put the embedded JPEG the same place with newer NEFs it works. Caveat: some users can't view the new losslessly compressed D3/D300 NEFs.

iView/xMedia on Mac uses the Nikon SDK to render NEFs, not any installed Nikon software. Installing Nikon software doesn't update the SDK in iView. In the past I've hacked the necessary components from Nikon View and put them into iView, with mixed results.

We'll have to wait for Microsoft to (hopefully) issue a Hotfix. Support for the Nikon D3/D300 and Leopard can't wait for xMedia v2.

-- Robert.